Press Releases


April 29, 2008
Rheem Direct Vent Tankless Water Heaters Avoid IAQ Problems In Modern "Tight" Homes

Rheem Direct Vent Tankless Water Heaters also offer these important features:

Remote control operation: The UMC-117 remote control can be set from 100°F to a maximum of 140°F. Additional remote control thermostats are also available and sold separately.

Connect two units for high-demand applications: The EZ-Link™ cable connects two tankless units to operate as one.

Film wrap overheat limiter: A Rheem exclusive, this device instantly detects an unsafe temperature in the heat exchanger of a Rheem tankless water heater and immediately shuts down the unit.

High-altitude models: Unless optimized for high-altitude use, gas appliances cannot achieve their maximum BTU punch at mountain altitudes. Rheem offers two high-altitude options: up to 6,560-foot or 9,840-foot elevations.

High performance for many years: Rheem Direct Vent Tankless Water Heaters carry a 10-year limited warranty on the heat exchanger and a three-year limited warranty on all parts.

Like the rest of the Rheem Tankless line, these units are third-party-certified to have an Energy Factor of .82 by the Gas Appliance Manufacturers Association (GAMA).

About Rheem Manufacturing Company
Rheem Manufacturing Company ( is a privately held company with headquarters in Atlanta, Ga. In its 81st year of operation, the company manufactures a full-line of high-quality residential and commercial heating and cooling systems, water heaters, swimming pool heaters and commercial boilers throughout North America and world markets. The premium brands of Rheem Manufacturing Company include Ruud, Raypak and Rheem. Rheem Manufacturing Company is the major associate sponsor of Richard Childress Racing and the No. 29 team driven by Kevin Harvick, 2007 Daytona 500 Champion, 2007 Craftsman Truck Series Champion and 2006 Busch Series Champion. Rheem is also the primary sponsor of Kevin Harvick Inc.’s No. 33 and No. 77 car for four high-profile Nationwide Series races in 2008.